

Minutes of the Extraordinary General Meeting

9th November 2023 at 11:15 a.m.

Restaurante Tasca Olivense, Oliva 46780.

Chairperson: Angela Town **Minute Taker:** Belinda Allan

Item	Minutes
1.	Present at the meeting: 50 members attended.
	Committee Members: Belinda Allan, Hilary Clark, Sandra Dunderdale, Julie Hayward, Steve
	Hems, Kelvin Jarman, Graham Martin, Barry Purvis, Gary Slater. Angela Town.
	Members: Anne Bateman, Stefan Burr, Briony Downs, Alan Dunderdale, Catharina Patelski
	Dauphin, Pauline Ellery, Jacqueline Flannigan, John Flannigan, Steve Gill, Doug Glossop,
	Bob Halsey, Pauline Hammond, Mike Helman, David Hickman, Anja Homburg, John Kelly,
	Colin Larby, Christine Larby, Val Laws, Ann McCusker, Jim McCusker, Peter Noyce, Glynis
	Perks, Trevor Perks, Elizabeth Peters, Marco Patelski, Kathy Price, Jessica Sawade, Jean
	Sedgley, Robert Sedgley, Eric Sprigg, Dorothy Stanfield, Anita Stewart, Dave Stewart, Ann
	Stratton, Keith Stratton, Wilma Taggart, Jassy Purves, Iris Vaughan.
2.	Apologies for absence and non-attendance acknowledgements:
	Committee member: Denise Hart. Members: Eric Ainsworth, Robert Allan, Graham Bacon,
	Jeannette Bacon, Maria Michelena-Ball, Lisa Barrett, Steve Barrett, Tina Bellenie, Nancy
	Benn, Gertie Brummans, Chris Coals, Andrea Collier, Michael Collier, Catharina Dauphin,
	Harry van Diessen, Gess Farrell, Mark Farrell, Angela Garry, Barry Hughes, Eileen Hughes,
	Diana Jameson, Pamela Jones, Cat Ketley, Virginija Langbakk, John Melville, Chris
	Medhurst-Jackson, Valerie Mash, Helen Medhurst-Jackson, Mavoureen Minkley, Alan
	Nicol, Barbara Nicol, Carol-Ann Nonino, Jacky Payne, Karen Pearce, Edi Price, Vernon Price,
	Julia Radford, Dilys Rees, Marie Ryan, Jan Robey. Malcolm Slater, Carole Smith, Helen
	Smith, Mike Smith, Jill Stent, John Stent, Cheryl Stow, Johanna Swanton, Jan Thompson.
	Audrey Woodhall, Dave Woodhall.

3. Acting president's introduction:

Explanation of the committee situation to date and reason for the meeting:

Angela Town explained to the members present why the extraordinary general meeting had been called. She explained that since the May 2023 general meeting, the previous president and secretary had resigned for personal reasons.

Angela Town explained that she would like her position to be approved by the membership, as she has been acting president since July 2023. She would also like the secretary and the new ordinary committee members to be approved.

Introduction to the proposed committee members:

Angela Town introduced herself and then introduced the other committee members that needed approval: Belinda Allan as secretary. Sandra Dunderdale, Julie Hayward, Kelvin Jarman, and Barry Purvis as ordinary committee members.

4. Approval of officials and committee members:

a) Summary of online vote:

Online approval forms were circulated to members on the 26th October and the 2nd November by email and the U3A Facebook page. 45 votes were received.

All the candidates received majority approval.

b) Votes recorded today:

Angela Town explained that the votes would be recorded as a simple majority vote. She read out the names of the candidates individually. Members showed their approval with a raised hand. There were no contested positions.

All committee members were accepted with majority approval.

All committee members accepted their positions.

5. Closure of meeting:

Angela Town gave the members the opportunity to ask questions; nothing was raised.

Angela Town thanked everyone for their attendance and support.

The meeting closed at 11:30 a.m.